37 groups petition for block seats

Rachel Brown

The Student Organizational Seating committee – composed of Ann Kathryn Parrish, Ryan Coleman, Sydney Lang, Nicholas Schmitt, Frank Schottgen, Adrian Smith, Katie Vallely and Brad Wurm – voted at the end of each presentation. Each voter used the same color pen to insure anonymity and ballots were placed in a ballot box. Mackenzie Brown, director of media relations for the Student Government Association, locked the ballot box between each session.

Presenters were each given five minutes to show the panel how their organization has excelled in leadership, academics and community service. They were able to ? use ? ?PowerPoint presentations and provide handouts to the committee ?during their allotted time.

At the end of the presentations, the organizations were scored in each of the three categories using numerical scores of 1-10. The total of all three scores will be used in determining what organizations are given organized seating and where in Bryant Denny the seating will be located.

Last October, 20 of the 36 groups who were given organized seating lost their block temporarily due to leaving the game early and absences. Many organizations that did not lose seating privileges last year chose to highlight the fact in their presentations to the SOS board.

Organizations will be notified this week of their seating placements.

The following organizations gave presentations for organized seating:

Theta Tau

Sigma Phi Epsilon

Honors College Assembly

Alpha Delta Phi

Lambda Chi Alpha

Pi Kappa Alpha

Alpha Sigma Phi

Law School SBA

Alpha Phi Alpha

Lambda Sigma Phi

Pi Kappa Phi

Sigma Alpha Epsilon

Kappa Alpha Order

Alpha Tau Omega

Blackburn Institute

Sigma Pi

Phi Kappa Tau

MBA Association

Alpha Kappa Lambda

Theta Chi

Sigma Tau Gamma

Delta Tau Delta

Delta Kappa Epsilon

Delta Sigma Phi

Sigma Chi

Sigma Nu

Beta Theta Pi

Phi Gamma Delta

Alpha Kappa Alpha

Air Force ROTC

Phi Delta Theta

Phi Kappa Sigma

Delta Chi

Alpha Kappa Psi

Chi Phi

Zeta Beta Tau

Kappa Sigma